Venezia a Cinque Terre

We ended up getting dinner later that night – some crappy lasagna and wine that was a fair trade off for the price and the location (right on the grand canal so we could people watch) – and walked some more around Venice which is just as beautiful as night. Exhausted, we retuned back to the hostel and I met two girls from California who were finishing up their trip.

The next morning I made my way to the Mercato de Rialto over by the Ponte Rialto and bought myself a peach and a fresh roll for breakfast along with a carton of figs to last the day. That peach was I think the most unbelievable thing I’ve ever eaten. It was so good that it was impossible to simultaneously eat it and pay attention to where I was going so naturally I got hopelessly lost. I ended up making my way back to the hostel by 11 30 and caught my 12 50 train to Levanto. I fell asleep and missed my stop so I got off at the next stop, Monteresso, and my jaw literally dropped. A view of dramatic cliffs and a huge expanse of peaceful sea welcomes you as you step off the platform at the train station. I got back on my train a couple of minutes later knowing I’d have time tomorrow to spend there and asked two girls if I was going the right way. They happened to be staying in the same hostel as me so we joined forces and found Ospitale del Mare together. Both are so sweet – Hannah is from Australia and Marium from Norway – and both were also traveling alone and found each other along the way.

We got pizza and wine together for dinner and wandered around for a bit. We found a small gelateria and my biscotti and cioccolato nero flavor mix gives that peach a run for its money – without a doubt the most creamy and delicious ice cream I’ve ever had. We were all speechless after the first tape and after noticing each others reactions had to laugh. We went down to see the beach at sunset (see picture attached) which was a scene literally out of a national geographic. I still can’t believe that I’m here doing all this – I couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunity. I’m so excited to see the rest of what the cinque terre has to offer!

Leave a Reply

