The Beginning of The End

Here we go. The last semester of UNC and for so many of us, the last few months of school ever. When did that happen? Where did the time go? While I’m sure there will be plenty of sappy, sentimental and over-emotional posts to come and this is not intended to be one of them, I stood by the Old Well today simply in awe of today, and what it means. I also spent the majority of the day overwhelmed by what lies ahead.

I think I’ve truly outdone myself. I always over commit. ALWAYS. Just ask my friend Greg who didn’t vote for me for class president in 11th grade because he thought I needed to be less stressed out. It’s a problem, but a problem I’ve been working on. Despite how far I’ve come in prioritizing, dropping commitments I’m not passionate about and de-stressing, I’ve got myself seriously booked up for these next few months. Two internships, a job, two classes, an LSAT class, the LSAT (take two), two trips and figuring out what I’m doing next year all while tasked with the impossible feat of making the most of every single second I have left at this beautiful place. It’s going to be a wild, intense ride.

I haven’t made a New Years resolution yet so I think it’s about time. This year, I’m going to work on taking each day, hour and minute one at a time. Easier said than done, I know, but it’s all a matter of bringing myself back to now when I start looking at everything I have to do this week, all the deadlines I have this month and where I’ll be in September. Big pictures like those are necessary in tiny, little doses and should be countered with some mental silence. I’ve got a lot on my plate but I’m committing to make the most of each thing I’ll be doing rather than let it turn me into one giant stress ball. I know I can do this, and do it well, but I’m resolving to honestly and truly enjoy it all and learn from all the different points I’ll hit, be they up or down. I also resolve to spend as many afternoons, Saturdays and Sundays on the porches of Bob’s and He’s Not as I can as soon as the weather gets nicer, but that’s a whole different story. For now, let’s see how this goes.

My first and last sip from the Old Well on the first day of classes
My first and last sip from the Old Well on the first day of classes
One thought on “The Beginning of The End

  1. Whoops, my iPad was acting up… I meant to say – I love it!! 🙂 One day at a time is the only way to live and actually be happy… enjoy each moment that you can, even if it’s spent doing mundane tasks… There’s always beauty where we least expect it 🙂

    Beautifully written 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

