Energy Skaters

“Ladies and Gentlemen, I stand before you now because I never stopped dawdling like an eight-year-old on a spring morning on his way to school. Anything can make me stop and look and wonder, and sometimes learn. I am a very happy man. Thank you.” – Dr. Hoenikker’s Nobel Prize acceptance speech, Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

a13ca7edb2005c7b4e5101a2029e9897I met a guy one day in Europe who told me that while wandering, I was like a little kid in a candy shop all day long. “It’s like every single window pane and canal is brand new and shiny,” he said it in a partially bemused, partially exasperated tone. I loved it. He was right. I probably was acting like a little kid – I couldn’t help but be in awe. Venice is beautiful, I was meeting new people in a place I had dreamed of, and the summer day was blissful. It’s moments of wonder like that – the ones that make my skin tingle, my eyes a little wild, my mind frantic – that motivate me, that inspire me to be more. I seek beautiful places, people’s stories, music you get lost in and great writing; I chase stars, sunrises, uncertain circumstances and new things to learn in a determined pursuit of those moments. I love watching people and things connect in ways that transcend practicality and make our predictions turn on themselves. I love people that love one another deeply and people that love what they do with abandon. I’m attracted to the dreamers and the creatives – the ones who make magic with their own thoughts and inspirations. That sense of wonder is my runner’s high and I am so lucky that it comes in so many different ways and forms, if only I pay attention.

I’m a dreamer. I always have been. Bill Kerrane, a friend of mine and a very talented writer, crafted this poem a couple of years back that I think captures what it means to be part of that band of dreamers – the loosely-bound group of minds that are often wandering throughout the world or in the stratospheres beyond, with all the highs and lows that come with it. It has served as inspiration for me over these past few years and he puts it better than I ever could, so I thought that (with his permission) I’d share with you:

Dreamers are the energy skaters,
pronouncing favors to the universe in their gazing savory amazement,
serenity ablazing,
peace rhythmically phasing,
all from the fringes of darkness’ soft born hinges,
we seek our stars and their placement,
now look and we’ll shake them.

In yoga the other day, a thought occurred to me (ironic, I know) that every moment is a moment of sheer wonder if only you can learn to be consistently and entirely present. If so, each moment is its own brand new world. With this perspective, even the most mundane is blissful. Food for thought, but it’s something I’ll be spending my days practicing.

Leave a Reply

